Biden approves Tennessee disaster declaration for Dec. 10-11 tornado outbreak

President Joe Biden on Friday declared that a major disaster exists in 12 Tennessee counties because of the Dec. 10-11 tornado outbreak. The declaration means Tennesseans in the affected counties can now apply for individual assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The declaration makes individual assistance available in the counties of Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Gibson, Henderson, Henry, Lake, Obion, Stewart, Sumner, Weakley, and Wilson.

A White House news release about the disaster declaration says that assistance includes grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster. Funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation statewide, the news release states.