Five Methuen educators named Teachers of the Year

METHUEN — The School Committee, during its May 9 meeting, honored five educators as Teachers of the Year and two high school seniors as SOAR Award recipients.

The Teachers of the Year include Kathryn Turmel, Nancy Shepherd, Kristen Bilapka-Cowpar, Jacqueline Rubino and Dawn Patterson.

Patterson was also chosen to receive the same honor from the Rotary Club of Methuen.

“My dreams have really come true,” said Patterson, who teaches third grade. “My team and fellow teachers are the ones who truly deserve this honor, they hold me up and accountable 180 days a year.”